‘The Resurrection of Gavin Stone’ | Movie Review

The Resurrection of Gavin Stone movie released on January 20!

I saw the movie last weekend with a good friend and fellow Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. fanatic, the perfect mix. Seeing a movie is more fun with someone who will appreciate it equally as well as yourself!

The Resurrection of Gavin Stone Trailer

My Review

Gavin Stone released in limited theatres, and the showtimes reflect that. Six opening-day showtimes quickly dwindled to one on the day I planned to see it, so I knew I had to act fast for it to happen at all.

Even if the movie were released just like any other blockbuster, I’d hesitate to say you must watch it in theatres. I “had” my own reasons for doing so – but let’s be real, folks, that is my abject fandom speaking!

I really enjoyed the movie as a whole and would watch again happily. Gavin Stone is funny, real, convincing, convicting, and above all, represents Christ. It was refreshing to see a movie do so clearly and forthrightly – as well as convincingly. So many times, Christians come across as hokey or contrived – but not here. I laughed so much at how perfectly so much was captured, from the newcomer’s struggle with when to sit or stand during a service, to the challenges of praying out loud.

Christians came across as approachable, normal, and genuine in the movie; the actors were legit and their message, even more so! I truly hope Brett Dalton (the actor portraying Gavin) learned the things his character did. The movie captured and portrayed faith well, and encouraged me in my own walk. It reminded me of the challenges many face coming to church for the first few times, and challenged me to welcome newcomers at my own church – beyond the token handshakes!

Gavin Stone ranks right up there among my favorite Christian movies. Similar to Moms’ Night Out in humor and tone, it takes a franker, deeper look at the gospel. Recommended for ages 13 and up.

Looking forward to watching the movie again when it comes to the small screen.

Leave a comment